Connect with us
Express news


Cricket: The World’s 2nd Game – Part V – The First T20 World Cup

Cricket: The World’s 2nd Game – Part V – The First T20 World Cup

After checking out the top 3 franchise leagues in the world, let’s look at the premier international Twenty20 competition. The 2021 T20 World Cup starts next month, but what has happened in its short history?

2007 was the year of the first Twenty20 World Cup and 12 teams participated. Besides the 10 full members, Kenya and Scotland were the other 2 teams participating in this tournament that was played on 3 different grounds in South Africa. The 2007 T20 World Cup was a huge success because It had everything required for top-quality entertainment, including the world’s best players and capacity stadiums. The competition began with a stunning display of power hitting from Chris Gayle against South Africa. He smashed 117 off 57 balls, including 10 sixes! If this wasn’t enough, India’s Yuvraj Singh achieved cricketing legend-status by thumping England’s Stuart Broad for 6 sixes in an over, during an insane 12-ball fifty. It wasn’t all batsmen-led action however, as Brett Lee claimed the first hat-trick in Twenty20 internationals, for Australia against Bangladesh.

This fantastic tournament culminated in a final that thrilled from start to finish, as sworn enemies India and Pakistan battled it out for the trophy. The match went down to a final-over thriller, with Pakistan needing just 6 runs from the last 4 balls. However, India eventually triumphed as Misbah-ul-Haq’s attempted scoop off Joginder Sharma only produced a catch for Sreesanth at short fine-leg. 

Australia’s Mathew Hayden was the top run scorer with 265 runs and Pakistan fast bowler Umar Gul took the most wickets (13). Craig McMillan hit 13 sixes in the tournament, the most by any player!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Cricket