Connect with us
Express news


Cricket: The World’s 2nd Game – Part VII – The 2010 T20 World Cup

Cricket: The World’s 2nd Game – Part VII – The 2010 T20 World Cup

Our series detailing the history of cricket continues with a look at what happened in the 2010 T20 Cricket World Cup!

Just a little over eight months since the previous tournament, the West Indies hosted the third World Twenty20. The format in this tournament was the same as in the previous two. The 12 teams consisted of the ten full members and two of the minor associate teams, in the form of Afghanistan and Ireland.

England proved the surprise package. They won their first major ICC (International Cricket Council) limited-overs trophy with a comprehensive seven wicket victory over Australia in the final.

The Australians had provided amazing fireworks in the semi-final when Pakistan appeared on course for a second final. Michael Hussey (AKA ‘Mr. Cricket’) came in and smashed 26 from five deliveries (in a 24-ball 60 not out), to win the game with just one ball to spare!

The major teams that struggled were India and South Africa. India were disturbed by the short ball. Used to the low, slow pitches of Asia, they struggled to adjust to the extra Caribbean bounce. South Africa were unable to pace a run chase and lost important games because of this.

To the frustration of the commercial gurus in the game, India again got to the Super 8 stage but lost all their matches. India’s elimination before the semi-finals again meant huge amounts of lost revenue.

The two Associates far from disgraced themselves, but neither made it to the Super 8 stage in this edition. 

Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene scored 302 runs. Australia’s Cameron White hit 14 sixes, which was the most by any player. Dirk Nannes, the former Netherlands bowler, who by 2010 had qualified to play for Australia, was the tournament’s highest wicket-taker with 14 scalps.

 Remember to check back next week to see what happened in T20 World Cup 2021. The T20 WC 2021 starts on 17/10/21 when the minnows of Oman and Papua New Guinea will meet at the Al Amerat Cricket Ground in Muscat.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Must See

More in Cricket