Connect with us
Express news


Cricket: The World’s 2nd Game – Part VIII – The 2012 T20 World Cup

Cricket: The World’s 2nd Game – Part VIII – The 2012 T20 World Cup

What happened in the 2012 T20 World Cup? Our series looking at the history of the world’s second-favourite sport continues!

The 2012 T20 World Cup was the fourth edition of the tournament. It was the first to be held in Asia, and featured matches in Colombo, Hambantota, and Pallekele. It was held in the same 12-team format as 2010, and the ten Test-playing nations were joined by Afghanistan and Ireland, who came through from the qualifiers.

There were no surprises in the group stages, and following the Super 8s, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Australia, and Pakistan made it through to the semi-finals. Sri Lanka overcame Pakistan by 16 runs and West Indies swept Australia aside by 74 runs to set up an intriguing final at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

With Ajantha Mendis (4-12) claiming telling wickets, the West Indies batting had a problem picking up momentum until Marlon Samuels cut loose with a flurry of sixes. Skipper Darren Sammy then smashed an unbeaten 26 off just 15 deliveries as West Indies finished on 137 for 6 on a low, slow surface that assisted the spinners.

Ravi Rampaul dismissed Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan in the first over of the chase. Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara then steadied the ship with 42 for the second wicket in 50 deliveries. Samuel Badree dismissed Sangakkara before Sunil Narine took over. The mystery spinner ended with remarkable figures of 3.4-0-9-3, as Sri Lanka were bowled out for 101 and slumped to their fourth loss in the final of an ICC event in five years.

It was West Indies’ first ICC title since the ICC Champions Trophy triumph in England in 2004. Samuels was named Player of the Final while Australian Shane Watson was adjudged Player of the Series.

To be continued…

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Cricket