Connect with us
Express news


Cricket: The World’s 2nd Game – Part IX – The 2014 T20 World Cup!

Cricket: The World’s 2nd Game – Part IX – The 2014 T20 World Cup!

The history of cricket’s most dramatic tournament continues with a look at all the excitement of the 2014 T20 World Cup!

In 2014, the tournament returned to Asia for a second consecutive time. The fifth edition was held across eight venues in Bangladesh from the 16th of March to the 6th of April. For the first time, the tournament featured 16 teams. The top eight teams in the ICC T20I rankings secured direct entry into the Super 10s, where they were joined by Bangladesh and Netherlands, who had topped their respective four-team qualifying groups.

The Netherlands provided the upset of the Super 10s by humiliating England by 45 runs in Group 1. Sri Lanka and South Africa made the semi-finals and were joined in the last four by India and defending champions, the West Indies.

Sri Lanka brushed the West Indies aside by 27 runs to get revenge for the defeat in the final of the previous edition. Meanwhile, India ensured that South Africa’s winless record in the knockout stage of ICC events continued, by cruising to a six-wicket win in the second semi-final.

In the final, India captain Virat Kohli was in sublime and devastating touch. India looked on course for a big total, but lost momentum in the latter stages of their innings. In the end, they had to settle for 130 for 4. Kohli finished unbeaten on 77 off 58 deliveries.

Sri Lanka were hardly troubled as they raced to 134 for 4 in the 18th over and won the game. Kumar Sangakkara led the chase with an unbeaten 52.

The triumph for the Lions of Sri Lanka was the perfect send-off for former captain Sangakkara. Along with fellow legend Mahela Jayawardene, the gifted wicket-keeper/batsman retired from Twenty20 International cricket after this stunning victory.

Sangakkara was named The Player of the Final. Kohli, with his 319 runs from six innings, at an unbelievable batting average of 106.33, was named The Player of the Tournament.

To be continued…

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Cricket